Is it Spring Yet?


Considering we have had sun, blue sky, gnarly clouds, snow, wind, rain – in buckets, more wind, more rain, and a fluctuation in temperature, from one extreme to the next, I guess officially spring has arrived. I haven’t been out and about too much lately as the weather has not been conducive to outdoor activities, unless you’re a duck, and then your golden.

I managed to capture a few images between the bizarre weather patterns including:  buckets of rain, wind squalls, and yes the rare snow event, all of which are indications we have reached spring.

I often feel that spring is a teaser; a teaser for what the weather will be like as summer approaches:  sun, flowers, blue skies, warmer weather, flowers. What we generally witness are the buds of life. For me this beauty is captured through the lens of my camera, in whatever form I decide, at the precise moment my finger presses the round silver knob. I have captured some of the beauty below. Here are the reminders that the buckets of rain will be worth it in the end. Hopefully…..

I know spring is around when I see some of my favorite flowers.

Yes tulips complete with droplets of rain.  They desperately were trying to open; perhaps they sensed the rain, and closed up their buds waiting for the sun to shine. They may have a long wait.

These tulips are better at showing off their beauty than the others as they are barely opening.

The delicately supple petals are nearly ready to make their grand appearance. I love tulips at this stage as they seem so vulnerable, because they are some of the first signs of life we see after what seems, a very long winter. When they reach this stage it is if they are crying, to open.

I love tulips, unfortunately, Lady Morgana, my baby kitty likes them too. So, no more tulips in the house. They make her sick. Now I merely look them from afar or through the lens of my camera and convert their images to cards. My daughter, Stephanie, who lives in Colorado, sent me flowers the other day for no reason; odd; Anyway, they were gorgeous purple flowers, I placed in a lavender vase and placed them on my desk so I could see them everyday. I left them unattended. I caught Morgana in the flowers, down she went and up the flower went. To a higher place on my desk. So, I could still see them. And decided n\o more flowers in the house until summer when I can put the freshly cut flowers on my bistro tables outside. Shame, to have to wait so long. The mile weather is one of the things that I love about living where we do, we can generally eat, drink, and be merry outside: We typically enjoy this as soon as the temperatures are conducive to such activities, a little rain, no problem, our veranda is covered. We spend a lot of our time in the summer out on the veranda, with a glass of wine and a plate of cheeses, gluten-free crackers, fresh gluten-free bread, and fruit. We did this twice last year. The weather sucked. We had no summer, only cold and rain. Better be a weather adjustment.  Not starting out very well. Why I would love to go somewhere warm.

At least the daffodils have arrived and ahead of the tulips; they have announced springs arrival. A good sign.

Yellow is so bright and full of life, like sunshine, and brings about a sense of happiness when you see the color.  As the flowers emerge in their colors of bold yellows, light yellows, and white with yellow, they announce spring has arrived. With its proclamation people generally come out of the woodwork, emerging from the winter cocoons, we call houses, all in efforts to enjoy the freshness that begins with spring. I identify yellow with spring largely because the flowers emerge and despite the temperature fluctuations, rain, sleet, snow, and ice, they are always a reliant indicator spring has finally – sprung.

Rain and milder temperatures allowed the daffodils to emerge over the last couple of weeks, from in their winter beds which confirms my supposition, spring has indeed arrived.

Let us not forget the spring lilies and the yellow pansy with droplets of rain. For me, these three flowers, the tulip, daffodils, and lilies, bring about memories of growing up in eastern Washington. I always knew spring had arrived, school would be over soon, and and summer was not far behind. All of these thoughts from the instant I walked home and saw the tulips, crocus, and daffodils had popped their tiny heads out from my mother’s flower beds.

Then their are the beautiful pinks and purple flowers that emerge. The pink hydrangea’s are delicate and dainty and come in a variety of colors, among my favorite – pink. Blue a close second, because blue flowers tend to be more rare.

Purple hyacinths are nice too!  Thinking back to the pink, I think of poesy’s, which were the small, hand-held bouquets of flowers popular in mid-19th-century, Victorian England as an accessory carried by fashionable ladies. Interesting this fashion statement faded. This flower, posie has been around for years and a popular spring flower. The song ‘Ring around the Rosie,” comes to mind. I wonder if the children still sing in this day, I will have to ask my daughter. I also wonder if they realize the true meaning of the song? I doubt it. I didn’t understand its significance until I was an adult. I guess our parents either don’t know, or would rather not tell us the true meaning of such a favorite childhood song. If you don’t know, this song was said to have been sung by children living during the time of the black plague. The posies were believed to help rid the air of the diseased, those who died, and the horrific smell of rotting corpses, that with the amalgamation of garlic. Children would sing the song whilst tossing the petals of posies. While some argue the song’s authenticity having to do with the plague, I have read about this in number of history books that this was indeed a real custom.

Ring-a-ring-a-roses,
A pocket full of posies;
Hush! hush! hush! hush!
We’re all tumbled down.

Today we merely admire the beauty of posies.

All of the flowers make me grow anxious for the beginning of summer when the local farmer’s markets open. And with the opening of the markets, comes the plethora of not only fresh vegetables but fresh flowers by the buckets, literally. The market’s around here generally open around the first part of May, and generally are booming mid June. I love the fresh flowers at the market. I find it interesting how the flowers change as summer progresses toward fall. It will be interesting this year to see how many crops have been affected by the crazy weather we have had over the winter and continue to see into spring,and what, if any impact the weather will have, not only on the flowers, but the gardens of fruits and vegetables and the wine industry here, and in Washington, California, to Europe.

Okay, I couldn’t stand it. I simply can’t wait until the roses begin to bloom. Here in Portland we have one of the largest and popular rose gardens in the US, hence we are called the rose city. I have been a few times, I love it. I only wish that I would have gone sooner.  My first visit was actually last year. It is funny how people tend to ignore the sites around them, choosing instead to go to other places, when practically right in their back yard, their are so many wonderful places to see and things to do. Well, until the roses bloom, the store front roses will have to do. What girl doesn’t love roses? A rose by any other name is nothing be a? I forget Mary? I don’t know. I recall hearing the saying, only I forgot the punchline. Typical.

The linen rose above, is so dainty almost if the petals, were dipped into a vat of red, pairing well with that of linens and lace. And this leads to one of my favorite roses and practically every girl in the world – the sign of love – the red rose.

I saved the granddaddy’s for the grand finale. So you merely thought that the red rose would be the granddaddy of roses. It simply is a toss up. I couldn’t decide so I decided to add both. You will have to decide yourself.  So where did, I capture such beauty? Why, at the grocery store, of course. Where else would one find a rose blooming in Portland in March?

I actually took the photos of the roses outside while, Lloyd was in the grocery store shopping. The inner child in me came out.  I always carry my camera with me, because one never knows when a photographic moment might happen. Also, it entertains me when I’m bored. For me, taking photos is exhilarating, maybe like a child riding a bike or merely running outside. I was playing in the flower beds at the local grocery store, trying to get a good shot, while the stares very apparent. I could feel the eye’s upon me as I quickly snapped a few shots. God only knows what they thought? I frankly I didn’t nor do I care. Let them look and or think what they will. I do this a lot. Most people are actually pretty nice, and surprisingly, many will ask me what I am doing. What does it look like I am doing?  You have to ask? Not the brightest flower in the flower bed. I am taking pictures of the flowers. Duh! That was my outside voice; my inside voice said calmly after a deep breath, “I am waiting for my husband, so I thought I would take some photos of the flowers.” I was annoyed largely because they were interfering with my time. I only had so much time before Lloyd finished shopping.

So, with the pink rose serving as the grand finale, it was also my cue to go home. A quick trip to the market and viola, a few lovely photos in the bag, which will be transformed into greeting cards.

While it is going to be a rainy day and weekend, I’m going to be taking the time to write, for which I will likely go into stealth mode. In that, I won’t be posting anything for a few days so I can get some much-needed writing done, and so Lloyd can actually use the Mac to develop his images. I must play nice and share. So, if you don’t see any posts from me for a few days you will know I am writing. If you do see posts, it means, the writing isn’t going well.  Boo.

I will take an occasional bread to read your blogs and post an occasional comment now and a again to keep me sane. Hopefully, I will return next week, recharged and ready to go.  Think happy thoughts, and yay to spring, and of course happy writing. The happy writing meant for me. Happy reading for you. If you find you are really eager to read more of my blogs, feel free to look through my blog archives; keep in mind these were written a while ago and I was new to the blogging world. I wasn’t really sure what I was doing. Not that I really know now. But, a mere warning to those who think they may be missing something. I will say, there are a lot of great photographs in my older blogs. So, please feel free to check them out. If you feel really daring please check out our website, or my other blog The House of Thoth blog page.

Cheers!

L&L

3 thoughts on “Is it Spring Yet?

  1. Absolutely delightful description of the beginnings of spring — your images are beautiful — all of this reminds me of my youth in Indiana.

Leave a Reply

